Tracks of 2015: #17 ‘Poison’ (Girl Friend)

Index

Forward to Track 18

Backward to Track 16

This article was going to be something different until approximately three days ago.

Doubts set in. Chins were stroked (I’m a big lad these days, there’s much chin to stroke). Whilst sticking to my long held system of having no system at all (these lists are always in no particular order, give-or-take occasional blips mostly for narrative purposes), the order is not set in stone. Something had to give. And so [TRACK I WON’T IDENTIFY] found itself off the list at practically the last minute. Cruel, cruel world.

From cruel to cool, though. Good heavens, “Poison” is a cracker isn’t it? It’s slick and sharp, as polished as a plate on which once sat a butter pie with red cabbage, and yet the song has a touch of giddy abandon about it. Maybe – and this being me, it’s very likely – the attraction lies in that chorus. “Earworm” doesn’t even come close, that’s an implant sewn beneath the skin and wired directly to the brain. Retro to its core, yes, with an ultra-cool hip and happening edge. I bloody love that chorus.

As it happens, this is the beginning of the end for my rundown. I suspect this closing section will look like the most overtly commercial and mainstream. I just wish that a band such as Girl Friend *had* more mainstream coverage, if only for a stand-out whammer of a song like this. We can dream.

