Tracks of 2015: #6 ‘Ship to Wreck’ (Florence & The Machine)

Index

Forward to Track 7

Backward to Track 5

The perfect companion track to ‘Tell Me Where It Hurts’ from Garbage.

Give me a whammer of a chorus and I’ll give you a smile. Give me Florence (and her machine) bashing out a very 21st century take on Fleetwood Mac at their most groovy and I’m yours for life. What darn tooting, no nonsense song writing this is: every element perfectly formed and timed in a pop-package undercut by the biting lyrics and chilling accompanying video. And who does videos very well these days? Florence certainly does.

Some songs just hit me right where it matters. Instant hit. This is one of them, and it doesn’t come at the end of a long line of Florence songs with the same impact. Yea I like what I’ve heard, thought the Glasto performance was satisfyingly bonkers, like to see a band like this doing well with commercial and less-so media. Thing is, I haven’t always turned my head towards the next single with hyperactive joy across my face. Until now. Brittle and bold as the lyrics may be, gorgeous as the video might happen to look, this song works because each of its parts combines so brilliantly. Old fashioned pop sensibilities do win out.

