Postcards from Nowhere

Today we will learn about Fate…

Fortune has an erratic attitude towards fairness. One would assume that, incidentally, “entirely” will throw from the dictionary “entire”, a word found now only in poems and love songs…But I digress…

Fortune has an erratic attitude towards direction, personal and ‘other’. The accidental meet, the fickle choice of coincidence, and the wandering of the heart; it is a ‘false science’, akin to thinking something strange has occurred when you meet a friend for the first time in years who you had thought about only that morning…

In the afternoon, the wandering had taken me to ‘usual haunts’. Of course Fate was designing my direction, perhaps even my thoughts, for how else would I have bumped into person. You can refer to my diary for the daily reportage. Fate was not always controlling, person had issues of their own. History has been re-written, I admit, for events now seem linear to an extent I cannot believe was the case originally.

Then, as now, was a suggested understanding that the more unusual events occurred for a reason, that there was a conclusion, a big “FIN” in the sky yet to be lowered. One day could be merely a sub-plot, lacking only a touch of the dramatic irony required in the otherwise rumbustious farce.

I could discuss person further, but not perhaps now. There are others, a growing line, an advancing army of strangers. One of these days the climax will result in either a fight or a flight. Some form of advance, on that we call all agree. The journey through the day is engraved on the underside of clouds, beyond which lies an unknown horizon. Something to do with “love”, I fear, something emotive. Thence…where? Knowing my luck, I’d suggest at from here, “what” is more appropriate…

